SapphicAThon TBR! [2020]

If you haven’t heard of it, SapphicAThon is a week-long readathon (May 18-25) dedicated to reading books about sapphic romances! You can find more information about the readathon on the twitter page. This is going to be my first year participating in this particular readathon and I’m so so so excited. Let’s get into the prompts and the books I want to read:

Reread a book:

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid. This is about a bisexual Cuban-American Hollywood star who rose to fame in the 60s & 70s, finally ready to tell her life’s story to a seemingly unknown magazine reporter, but their lives end up intersecting in shocking ways. I feel like that description doesn’t do this book justice – it’s just amazing and I need to reread it. I’m a little scared though, remembering how emotional this book made me.

Read a Graphic Novel:

Lumberjanes by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Noelle Stevenson, Brooklyn Allen (illustrator). I honestly have no idea what this is about other than there is a f/f relationship (not even sure if it’s a MC or not), but I’ve seen it around a few times and I figured I would finally give it a shot. I don’t usually read graphic novels, so we’ll see how this goes together.

Read a Book with a Trope You Love:

Crier’s War by Nina Varela. I meant to read this literally last summer and never got around to it, but I’m incredibly excited to finally be able to pick it up. This book is about a girl named Ayla who is seeking revenge for her father’s death, so she climbs through the ranks as a servant in the House of the Sovereign with the intent of killing the Sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier, who is Made to be flawless and take over after her father. I know that this features the enemies-to-lovers trope, which is one of my favorites, so I’m excited.

Read a Book by an Author of Color:

The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo. I’m reading this one for the Asian readathon as well, but I don’t know much about it other than it’s a novella featuring a cast of queer characters and I believe there’s a nonbinary main character. You’ll probably see a theme on this blog that I don’t know a ton about most books that I want to read, but I like to go into books not knowing a lot so I can be surprised (hopefully in a good way).

Read a Book That You Got for Free:

Love Bites by Ry Herman. I got this as an eARC from Netgalley, which I requested entirely on an impulse after seeing gay post-grad vampire and girl struggling with mental health falling in love. I’m a little skeptical going into this knowing it’s written by a guy*, but I’ll keep you updated.

*update: the author is bisexual and genderqueer, so I’m a little more hopeful about this one!

Read a Book That Has Been on Your TBR for a Long Time:

Everything Leads to You by Nina Lacour. This is a book that a lot of people pick up as the first sapphic book they read – it’s at the top of so many sapphic reading lists, but I haven’t picked it up yet. I own it, but haven’t read it. Again, I literally know nothing about it, I just bought it because it was gay and I was excited. I think there’s film involved? And there’s a sapphic romance. That’s all I know.

Free Choice: read anything sapphic!

Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee, which also works for the asian readathon! I don’t know much about this one other than it’s about a queer asian main character who has superpowers, and it’s sapphic, but I’m excited.

One thought on “SapphicAThon TBR! [2020]

  1. Needless to say you added to my TBR list! I did not know about this readathon! Thanks for the info. I already had “Not Your Sidekick” on my TBR list – I actually just downloaded it from my library. Thanks so much for sharing, I am totally doing this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment